We are international

IMF Awards Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award to Kenneth C. Anderson, MD

Drs. Kyle and Anderson with Susie Novis

The International Myeloma Foundation (IMF) is proud to award its prestigious Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award to Kenneth C. Anderson, M.D., Chief of the Division of Hematologic Neoplasia, Director of the Jerome Lipper Multiple Myeloma Center, and Vice Chair of the Joint Program in Transfusion Medicine at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (DFCI) in Boston, Massachusetts.

Dr. Anderson is being honored for pioneering critical advances against multiple myeloma, leading not only to improved treatments, but also to a deeper understanding of how myeloma occurs at the basic level of cells and genes.  “Ken’s work in the field of myeloma has helped raise awareness of this disease,” said Susie Novis, IMF President.  “His lab is one of the leading institutions moving myeloma research forward and, for that, we are proud to present him with this award.”

The IMF's Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award was established to honor an individual whose lifetime body of work furthers the ultimate goal of finding a cure for myeloma, a cancer of the bone marrow. The accolade is named after Dr. Robert A. Kyle, noted physician and founder of the Myeloma and Related Diseases Research Group at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester , Minnesota .  Dr. Kyle himself was the first recipient of the award in 2003, and Bart Barlogie, M.D., of the Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy in Little Rock , Arkansas , received the award in 2004.  This is the third year the award has been bestowed.

Dr. Anderson received the Robert A. Kyle Award at the Harvard Club in Boston on September 27, 2005.

 related articles